Pauline Berry Head Teacher Personal Statement

 

FACULTY & STAFF DIRECTORY ::

 

 

Search by clicking the first letter of the employee Last Name:

 

ABCDEFGH I JKLMNOP Q RST U VW X YZ

 

or select a department/division:

The main phone number for ANC is 870-762-1020.

 

Name / TitleDepartment/AreaContact Info
A
Adams, Tara
Pathways Advisor
Career Pathways tadams@smail.anc.edu
x1188
B16
Alisic, Ibrahim
Maintenance Assistant
Physical Plant x1190
D4
Alvoid, Lonzetta
Administrative Specialist I, Adult Education / GED Examiner
Adult Educationlalvoid@smail.anc.edu
x1939
870-780-1278
L47
Anderson, Takindra
Administrative Specialist I, Advising Center
Advising Center tdanderson@smail.anc.edu
x1521
S145
Anderson, Trina
Academic Service Coordinator, Student Support Services
TRiOtanderson@smail.anc.edu
x1252
Briggs/Sebaugh Wellness Center
Andrews, Iryna
Mathematics
Arts & Sciencesiandrews@smail.anc.edu
x1163
C12
Arledge, Melissa
Early College Program Coordinator/
Lead Career Coach
Career Coachmarledge@smail.anc.edu
870-838-9165
B
[ TOP OF PAGE ]
Banks, Marlene
Assistant to the Board/President
---mbanks@smail.anc.edu
x1124
A207
Banks, Robin
Associate Degree Nursing
Nursing & Allied Healthrbanks@smail.anc.edu
x1809
NAH172
 Bennett, Gene
Vice President for Workforce Development
Administration / The Solutions Groupgbennett@smail.anc.edu
x1601
Harry L. Crisp Center

x1401
Burdette Center
Bennett, Michelle
Assistant Director of the Secondary Center
Secondary Centermbennett@smail.anc.edu
x1400
Burdette Center
 Bennett, Sherri
Vice President for College Readiness
Administration / Career Pathways / Secondary Centersbennett@smail.anc.edu
x1191
A219
 Bentley, Tim
Criminal Justice
---tbentley@smail.anc.edu
x1125
B6
 Berry, Ginger
Physical Science
Arts & Sciencesgberry@smail.anc.edu
x1169
C15
Blankenship, Candice
Higher Education Institution Program Coordinator, Student Support Services
TRiO cblankenship@smail.anc.edu
x1148
Briggs/Sebaugh Wellness Center
 Bogard, Denese
Education Advisor, Educational Opportunity Center
TRiOdbogard@smail.anc.edu
x1104
S116
 Bowens, Pacey
Associate Vice President for Finance
Administrationpbowens@smail.anc.edu
x1130
A104
Brady, Heather
Fiscal Support Specialist
Business Officehbrady@smail.anc.edu
x1132
A108
Brasher, Holt
Art Instructor
Arts & Sciences hbrasher@smail.anc.edu
x1202
B3
Brassfield, Tamatha
Office Management Instructor
--- tbrassfield@smail.anc.edu
x1157
B5
 Brown, Nikki
Admissions Counselor/Recruiter
Student Affairs / Student Servicesnbrown@smail.anc.edu
x1008
S121
 Burchard, Rebecca
Institutional Services Assistant
Physical Plant x1190
D4
 Burnette, Mallory
Developmental Education, English
Arts & Sciencesmburnette@smail.anc.edu
x1172
 Burton, Cindy
Coordinator, Paragould Center
Paragould Centercburton@smail.anc.edu
x1754
870-239-3200
Paragould Center
 Busby, Duane
Criminal Justice
Secondary Centerdbusby@smail.anc.edu
x1411
Burdette Center
 Butler, Tachmonite
Testing and Academic Success Coordinator
Advising Centertbutler@smail.anc.edu
x1161
S146
C
[ TOP OF PAGE ]
 Carr, Darrel
Advising Specialist, Transfer Programs
Advising Centerdcarr@smail.anc.edu
x1240
S149
 Carroll, Brent
Welding
The Solutions Groupbcarroll@smail.anc.edu
x1606
Crisp Center/ACME Center
Cashman, Teresita
Maintenance Assistant
Physical Plant x1190
D4
Chambers, Alton
Maintenance Assistant
Physical Plant x1190
D4
 Childers, Lisa
Associate Professor and Director of Dental Assisting
Nursing & Allied Healthlchilders@smail.anc.edu
x1808
NAH166
Cierzniewski, Paul
Aviation Maintenance
Aviation Maintenance pcierzniewski@smail.anc.edu
870-762-2726
ACME Center
Clark, Andrew
Public Safety Security Officer
Physical Plant x1190
D4
Clark, Stacy
Education Advisor, Educational Opportunity Center
TRiOsclark@smail.anc.edu
x1304
Osceola Center
 Cook, Pamela
Administrative Specialist I, Osceola Center
Osceola Centerpcook@smail.anc.edu
x1300
Osceola Center
 Cooley, Sherryl
Adult Education Instructor
Adult Educationscooley@smail.anc.edu
Leachville Center/Osceola Center
 Cooper, Courtney
Coordinator for Placement Services
The Solutions Groupccooper@smail.anc.edu
x1607
Harry L. Crisp Center
Cravens, Sabrina
English
Arts & Sciences
scravens@smail.anc.edu
x1247
C8
Crawford, Marty
Construction Technology
The Solutions Group mcrawford@smail.anc.edu
Burdette Center
 Creecy, Sara
Career Coach
Career Coachsjcreecy@smail.anc.edu
870-838-9905
 Creecy, Scott
Physical Plant Director
Physical Plantscreecy@smail.anc.edu
x1196
D6
 Crosskno, Stephen
Industrial Technical Skills Electrical Systems Specialist
The Solutions Groupscrosskno@smail.anc.edu
x1608
Harry L. Crisp Center
D
[ TOP OF PAGE ]
Diagostino, David
Career Coach
Career Coach ddiagostino@smail.anc.edu
870-838-9902
Dillard, Destinee
Education Advisor, Educational Talent Search
TRiO ddillard@smail.anc.edu
x1423
B14
Donner, Melissa
Payroll Services Specialist
Business Officemdonner@smail.anc.edu
x1137
A107
Dyson, Gwendolyn
Administrative Specialist I, Allied Health
Nursing & Allied Healthgdyson@smail.anc.edu
x1802
NAH160
E
[ TOP OF PAGE ]
 Echols, Jeff
Career Coach
Career Coachjechols@smail.anc.edu
870-838-9901
Ellis, Karen
Director of Library & Audiovisual Services
Library kellis@smail.anc.edu
x1234
L19
 Ellis, Vicki
Administrative Specialist I, Physical Plant
Physical Plantvellis@smail.anc.edu
x1190
D4
F
[ TOP OF PAGE ]
Fair, David
Maintenance Technician
Physical Plant x1420
Burdette Center
 Fincher, Kathy
Education Advisor, Educational Talent Search
TRiOkfincher@smail.anc.edu
x1437
B12
 Fisher, Courtney
Director of Student Services
Student Affairs / Student Servicescfisher@smail.anc.edu
x1162
S118
Fisher, Michael
Fine Arts/Humanities
Arts & Sciencesmfisher@smail.anc.edu
x1155
 Follett, Scott
Industrial Mechanical Systems Specialist
The Solutions Groupsfollett@smail.anc.edu
x1609
Harry L. Crisp Center
Freeman, Marie
Administrative Specialist I, Adult Education / GED Examiner
Adult Educationmfreeman@smail.anc.edu
x1192
870-780-1277
L48
Frias, Matthew
Welding
The Solutions Group mfrias@smail.anc.edu
x1449
Burdette Center
G
[ TOP OF PAGE ]
 Garren, Mary Ann
Coordinator, Community Education
Community Educationmgarren@smail.anc.edu
x1229
L30
Gaston, Mary
Career Coach
Career Coach mgaston@smail.anc.edu
870-838-9903
Gillen, Blythe
Admissions Counselor
Student Affairs / Student Servicesbgillen@smail.anc.edu
x1246
870-762-3180
S114
Statehouse Hall
 Gifford, Rachel
Associate Vice President for Development and College Relations / Executive Director of The Foundation
Administration / College Relations & Marketingrgifford@smail.anc.edu
x1120
A2015
Gilliam, Hilary
Practical Nursing
Nursing & Allied Health hgilliam@smail.anc.edu
x1805
870-780-1285
NAH163
Godsey, David
Public Safety Security Officer
Physical Plant x1190
D4
 Graham, Danny
Webmaster/Technology Support Specialist
Management Information Technology Services (MITS)dgraham@smail.anc.edu
x1164
B201
 Greene, Barbara
Practical Nursing Director, Practical Nursing
Nursing & Allied Healthbgreene@smail.anc.edu
x1803
870-780-1225
NAH161
 Greer, Richard
Maintenance Assistant
Physical Plant x1190
D4
H
[ TOP OF PAGE ]
Hall, Maria
Institutional Services Assistant
Physical Plant x1190
D4
Hamilton, Paul
Construction Technology
Secondary Centerphamilton@smail.anc.edu
x1446
Burdette Center
Hampton, Tabatha
Coordinator, Human Resources & ADA
Human Resourcesthampton@smail.anc.edu
x1136
A111
 Harris, Holly
Financial Aid Advisor
Student Affairs / Financial Aidhharris@smail.anc.edu
x1115
S119
 Harris, Tonya
Director, Educational Talent Search and Educational Opportunity Center
TRiOtharris@smail.anc.edu
x1447
B10
 Hart, Kimberly
Education and Training
Secondary Centerkhart@smail.anc.edu
x1455
Burdette Center
 Hartley, James
Media Director/Professor of Criminology & Sociology
College Relations & Marketing / Arts & Sciencesjehartley@smail.anc.edu
x1147
B6
 Hartley, Dr. Jillian
Professor of History & Political Science
Arts & Sciencesjhartley@smail.anc.edu
x1168
C2
 Hernandez, Frank
Aviation Maintenance Instructor
Aviation Maintenance fhernandez@smail.anc.edu
870-762-2726
ACME Center
 Hicks, Deanita
Dean, Arts and Sciences
Arts & Sciencesdhicks@smail.anc.edu
x1173
C1
Higgs-House, Karen
Institutional Services Assistant
Physical Plant x1190
D4
 Holifield, Brenda
Dean, Nursing, Allied Health, and Health, Physical Education, Recreation
Nursing & Allied Health bholifield@smail.anc.edu
x1801
NAH159
Howard, Bettie Sue
Institutional Services Assistant
Physical Plant x1190
D4
 Hunt, Dr. Blanche
Associate Vice President of Community Relations
Administrationbhunt@smail.anc.edu
x1174
L46
 Hutto, Ron
Director of Systems Programming/Database Services
Management Information Technology Services (MITS)rhutto@smail.anc.edu
x1313
A116
J
[ TOP OF PAGE ]
 Johnson, Johnnie
Public Safety Security Officer
Physical Plant x1190
D4
 Jones, Joseph
Computer Information Systems
---jjones@smail.anc.edu
x1184
B7
 Jones, KeTierra
Financial Aid Advisor/Veteran Affairs Representative
Student Affairs / Financial Aidkjones@smail.anc.edu
x1062
S121
 Jones, Dr. Lisa
Associate Degree Nursing
Nursing & Allied Healthljones@smail.anc.edu
x1813
NAH171
Jones, Maci
Pathways Advisor
Career Pathwaysmjones@smail.anc.edu
x1189
B15
K
[ TOP OF PAGE ]
John Kelly
Coordinator, Adult Education
Adult Education jkelly@smail.anc.edu
x1937
L48
 Kemper, Dustin
Associate Professor of History
Arts & Sciencesdkemper@smail.anc.edu
x1171
C5
 Kemper, Gail
Administrative Specialist I, Management Information Technology Services (MITS)
Management Information Technology Services (MITS)gkemper@smail.anc.edu
x1165
A112
Kennedy, Danny
Assistant Plant Director
Physical Plantdkennedy@smail.anc.edu
x1196
D4
Kennon, Courtney Nicki
Education Advisor, Educational Talent Search
TRiOckennon@smail.anc.edu
x1424
B13
Klein, Cameron
English
Arts & Sciencescklein@smail.anc.edu
x1210
C3
L
[ TOP OF PAGE ]
Langley, Kyra
Assistant Professor of Nursing & Allied Health
Nursing & Allied Healthklangley@smail.anc.edu
x1525
NAH164
Lavender, Chandra
Adult Education Instructor
Adult Education clavender@smail.anc.edu
-
Lewis, Brad
Computer Support Specialist
Management Information Technology Services (MITS) blewis@smail.anc.edu
x1111
A113
 Lewis, Leslie
Retention Coordinator, Student Support Services
TRiOllewis@smail.anc.edu
x1243
Briggs/Sebaugh Wellness Center
 Linam Parks, Pauline
Career Pathways Program Director
Career Pathwaysplinam@smail.anc.edu
x1752
Paragould Center

x1204
B8
Main Campus
 Lowe, Rosemary
Registrar
Student Affairs / Student Servicesrlowe@smail.anc.edu
x1105
S117
M
[ TOP OF PAGE ]
Mabry, Ana
Library Support Assistant
Library amabry@smail.anc.edu
x1231
Library
Marshall, Kim
Controller
Business Officekmarshall@smail.anc.edu
x1133
A103
 Marshall, Rene
Fiscal Support Specialist
Business Officermarshall@smail.anc.edu
x1135
A103
 McClain, James W.
Vice President, Management Information Technology Services (MITS)/Student Affairs
Administration / Student Affairs / Management Information Technology Services (MITS)jmcclain@smail.anc.edu
x1002
A118
McCone, Debra
Institutional Services Assistant
Physical Plant x1420
Burdette Center
 McCord, Matt
Director of Health, Wellness, and Recreation
Nursing & Allied Healthmmccord@smail.anc.edu
x1528
870-838-2914
W100
Briggs/Sebaugh Wellness Center
McGaughy, Kiesha
Administrative Specialist II, Crisp Center
The Solutions Groupkmcgaughy@smail.anc.edu
x1600
Harry L. Crisp Center
 McGee, Kammie
Administrative Specialist II, Vice President for College Readiness
---kmcgee@smail.anc.edu
x1048
A219

x1404
Burdette Center
 McGhee, Lisa
Director, Student Support Services
TRiOlmcghee@smail.anc.edu
x1238
Briggs/Sebaugh Wellness Center
 Meador, Ruby
Associate Dean, Management Information Technology Services (MITS)
Management Information Technology Services (MITS)rmeador@smail.anc.edu
x1150
A115
 Mills, Carol
Coordinator, Academic Technology/Distance Education
---cmills@smail.anc.edu
x1207
B205
 Mills, Mintha
Administrative Specialist I, Nursing
Nursing & Allied Healthmmills@smail.anc.edu
x1830
NAH142
 Mills, Timothy
Public Safety Security Officer
Physical Plant x1426
Burdette Center
 Morris, Lance
Associate Professor of Biology
Arts & Scienceslmorris@smail.anc.edu
x1149
C107
N
[ TOP OF PAGE ]
 Neil, Jackson
Advising Specialist, Nursing & Allied Health
Advising Center / Nursing & Allied Healthjneil@smail.anc.edu
x1806
S150
O
[ TOP OF PAGE ]
 Odom, James
Director, Academic Technology Services
Management Information Technology Services (MITS)jodom@smail.anc.edu
x1182
A114
Olivares, Courtney
Admissions Data & Project Manager
Student Affairs / Student Servicescolivares@smail.anc.edu
x1119
Statehouse Hall
P
[ TOP OF PAGE ]
 Pankey, Tonya
Associate Professor and Director of Associate Degree Nursing
Nursing & Allied Healthtpankey@smail.anc.edu
x1811
870-780-1223
NAH172
 Parker, Deborah
Associate Vice President / Assistant Chief Academic Officer
Administrationdparker@smail.anc.edu
x1178
A211
 Pelts, William
Welding
Secondary Centerwpelts@smail.anc.edu
x1449
Burdette Center
Peridore, Emily
Administrative Specialist II, Student Affairs
Student Affairs / Student Serviceseperidore@smail.anc.edu
x1103
Statehouse Hall
 Perkins, Ryan
Assistant Professor and Coordinator of Education
Arts & Sciencesrperkins@smail.anc.edu
x1220
C16
 Pillow, Regina
Administrative Specialist I, Faculty
Nursing & Allied Health / Paragould Centerrpillow@smail.anc.edu
x1751
870-239-3200
Paragould Center
Prater, Sarah
Administrative Specialist II, Student Affairs
Student Affairs / Student Servicessprater@smail.anc.edu
x1068
Statehouse Hall
R
[ TOP OF PAGE ]
Raines, Brandon
Restaurant Kitchen Manager
--braines@smail.anc.edu
x1214
870-780-1259
Sunshine Grille/Student Center
 Ray, S. Don
Vice President for Administration
Administrationdray@smail.anc.edu
x1122
A217
 Rayder, Layne
Life Sciences
Arts & Scienceslrayder@smail.anc.edu
x1179
C13
 Reid, Renea
Mathematics
Arts & Sciencesrreid@smail.anc.edu
x1221
C10
S
[ TOP OF PAGE ]
 Samford, Lanice
Assistant Professor of English
Arts & Sciencescsamford@smail.anc.edu
x1522
B9
Scott, Susie
Career Coach
Career Coach sscott@smail.anc.edu
870-838-9904
Semmel, Robert
Leadership & Performance Industrial Instructional Specialist
The Solutions Grouprsemmel@smail.anc.edu
x1603
Harry L. Crisp Center
 Shemwell, Dr. Bridget
ACE Center Director and CTE Advising Specialist
Advising Centerbshemwell@smail.anc.edu
x1045
S151
 Shemwell, Dr. James
President
Administrationjshemwell@smail.anc.edu
Siegler, Brooke
Education Advisor, Educational Talent Search
TRiObsiegler@smail.anc.edu
x1422
B11
Siegler, Michael
Maintenance Assistant
Physical Plant x1190
D4
Sikes, Bobby Lynn
EMS Program Director/Instructor
Nursing & Allied Healthbsikes@smail.anc.edu
x1807
870-780-1254
NAH165
 Singleton, Robin
Dean, Effectiveness, Assessment, and Planning
--- rsingleton@smail.anc.edu
x1177
B1

One of the aspects of applying for teaching jobs which I get the most questions about is the personal statement. Do you need to write a letter of application in addition to completing the section in the application form which is entitled further information? My advice is simple, do both. One of the problems that many applicants have is trying to get their message across to the reader in the limited space that they have available so hence it is always a mistake to do one without the other. If you only complete one you may be struggling to keep your letter to a reasonable length or have a section of the application form that goes on for pages.

Unfortunately some trainee teachers get so bothered about this aspect of the application that they slip up on other elements of their written application. So let's take a look at other parts of the form.

Completing the application form

This should be the simplest part of the applying for a job but you would be surprised by how many applicants make a complete mess of the application form and in the current competitive school job market, the interviewer may only then give the letter of application a cursory glance.

Electronic forms

Nearly all schools will now provide an electronic copy of their application form. School leaders are expecting their new teachers to be ICT literate with solid skills ranging from using an interactive whiteboard to completing online reports. No matter how beautiful your handwriting, an application which is not word processed will immediately raise doubts in the interviewer's mind that you do not have the ICT skills required in today's schools.

Dates

The second most frequent error is the applicant who gets confused with some of their dates on the application form. This is an applicant's professional foul, as all interviewers will have completed their safer recruitment training and one aspect of this which is hammered home is that gaps in an applicant's history could raise safeguarding concerns. At the other end of the spectrum it just shows a slap-dash attitude. One suggestion is that before you start applying for jobs, complete a word processed document which has two sections: your previous employment history and your education/qualifications listed in reverse chronological order. If you spend a little time completing this list at your leisure when you are then rushing to complete an application form in between planning the next day's lessons you should be able to copy and paste the list line by line into the application form.

Don't leave any gaps

If getting the dates wrong is a professional foul, then missing sections of the form really is a red card offence especially if the section you miss out is that where you have to disclose any criminal convictions. You would be surprised by the number of applicants who forget to complete this box when they have a completely clean criminal record and have nothing to hide. Yet again in today's safety conscious world, if you do miss that box out and the interviewer already has five strong applicants, then you may not make the shortlist for interview.

Further information

As I suggested at the beginning of this article, the section of the form that can really make a difference to your application is the further information section. Where I always prefer to see a letter of application written in continuous prose, I am quite happy to see this section written in bullet points. Some of the best further information sections that I have seen are those who have taken the job description and tried to write notes on each point showing they have all the skills required by the school. If the interviewer is taking a very scientific scoring approach to shortlisting the applicants, by using this approach, you are making it much easier for them to check off that you are the ideal person for the job and the final signing for their team.

Follow these golden rules

• Always try to word process your application form

• Ensure there is something in every box

• Double check that the dates in your employment history and education are correct

• Ensure the further information dovetails with your letter of application

• Include information from your letter and other additional information

• Be prepared to explain any gaps in service

Paul K Ainsworth is a secondary school head teacher in Leicestershire and the author of Get that Teaching Job.

This content is brought to you by Guardian Professional. Sign up to the Guardian Teacher Network to get access to more than 100,000 pages of teaching resources and join our growing community. Looking for your next role? See our Guardian jobs for schools site for thousands of the latest teaching, leadership and support jobs

0 comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *